Legislation has been extremely busy in 2019 for the state of California, considering Governor Gavin Newsom announced last Sunday that he had signed 870 bills into law and vetoed 172.
Few pieces of legislation have received credible-media attention, but many new laws have slipped under the public radar. You may have completely missed the changes, so we decided to compile a list of 10 Laws You Need To Know:
10. A ban on for-profit, private detention facilities, including those under contract to the federal government to hold immigrants awaiting deportation hearings. The state corrections department will be prohibited from renewing contracts starting next year.
9. Tiny hotel toiletries starting in 2023 will be illegal, and replaced with refillable soap and shampoo dispensers. Violating hotels could be fined $500 for a first offense and $2000 for subsequent violations.
8. Victims of childhood sexual abuse are able to file a lawsuit up from age 26 until age 40. Also giving victims of all ages three years to sue, starting January 2020.
7. A new cap on interest rates at 36% with consumer loans of $2,500 to $10,000. Previously, there was no interest rate cap on loans over $2,500, and would lead to predatory lending to low-income Californians.
6. Most animals (besides domesticated dogs, cats, and horses) are no longer allowed in circus performances in California. The rules don’t apply to rodeos, also New Jersey and Hawaii already have similar laws on the books.
5. Beginning in the 2022 school year, high schools throughout California won’t start before 8:30 a.m. and middle schools won’t start before 8 a.m. This new law doesn’t affect “zero period” classes that are held before the school day starts.
4. Students are guaranteed a state-funded meal of their choice, even if their parent or guardian has unpaid meal fees. This measure bans the practice of “lunch shaming”, in which students who owe were denied food or given a cheaper alternative meal.
3. Starting January 1, school districts will have the ability to choose whether or not they will allow parents to administer cannabis to their children while at school; and if a school district did allow cannabis on campus, it would be only under specific circumstances (non-smoking form).
2. 15 new measures were signed into law that seeks to reduce gun violence. Most notable law makes California the first state to allow individuals to seek gun violence restraining orders against other people. Meaning those people can petition a judge to take away someone’s gun if they are deemed to be a danger.
With the signing of this first-in-the-nation law, California opened the way for college athletes to hire agents and make money from endorsement deals with sneaker companies, soft drink makers, car dealerships and other sponsors, just like the pros. It’s set to go into effect in 2023. It could radically transform college sports, trigger a legal challenge, or both.
- Senate Bill 395 will allow California drivers who hit a deer, elk, antelope or wild pig to salvage and eat the roadkill they create. The same goes for those who stumble on dead roadside animals. The California Department of Fish and Wildlife has until 2022 to develop a permitting process.